The Republic of the Marshall Islands, in its internationally recognised boundaries, comprises 28 atolls and five islands. The geographical term "Marshall Islands", however, also includes Wake Atoll, currently under the jurisdiction of the United States of America. The Republic of the Marhshall Islands has repeatedly made clear its position that Wake Atoll (Eneen-Kio in Marshallese terms) forms an integral part of the Republic of the Marshall Islands. [back]